Germany, Poland And Sweden Expelled Russian Diplomats In Response To The Collapse Of The Kremlin

2021-02-08   |   by CusiGO

Germany, Poland and Sweden jointly expelled three Russian diplomats on Monday in response to the plight of European foreign minister Josep Borrell during his visit to Moscow last week. The Kremlin is the first visit to the Kremlin by the European Union’s high representative for foreign policy since 2017, expelling three European diplomats accused of supporting opposition Alexei navalni’s protests. The three affected countries have decided to respond in a coordinated manner.

“The Federal Foreign Ministry announced on Monday that a staff member of the Russian Embassy in Berlin is not welcome,” the German government announced in a brief press release. The text refers to Article 9 of the 1961 Vienna Convention on diplomatic relations and adds that “through this step, the federal government responded to the decision taken by the Russian Federation on 5 February”. The memo said Russia expelled several diplomats, including a member of the German Embassy in Moscow, for “no reason.”. According to the German Foreign Ministry, his workers are only observing developments in Russia “through legal means” and performing their duties under the Vienna Convention.

“We have informed the Russian Embassy that a person in the embassy has to leave Sweden,” Swedish foreign minister Ann Linde said on her twitter on Monday. This is a clear response to the unacceptable decision to expel a Swedish diplomat who only performs his duties. ”

Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov responded that the expulsion of German, polish and Swedish diplomats was “unreasonable and unfriendly,” Interfax reported.

These incidents took place in the crisis of the navani case, which was imprisoned on its return from Germany, which caused demonstrations in Russia and was condemned by the European Union.

On his blog this Sunday, Borrell said that when he returned from Moscow, he was “deeply concerned about the development prospects of Russian society and Russia’s Geostrategic choices.”. He added: “Russia seems to be moving away from Europe and sees democratic values as a threat to survival.”. The decision of the three European governments will shift from Brussels to take a tougher stance on Moscow, which has so far retained only Poland, the Baltic States and other member states. The European foreign minister added that “Member States must decide what to do next and whether these actions may include sanctions.”